After the ban on Christianity was lifted, French missionaries Fathers Freneau and Marmand visited Goto to preach, tasked with reviving Christianity on the islands. In 1880, Father Marmand built the first wooden church on the islands.
Father Pellew, who took up the post later, completed the current brick church in 1908. Some of the materials were imported from Italy for the construction, and the interior features wooden construction, colored glass windows, and a bat shaped ceiling.
It is now open to the public as a museum exhibiting the history of the oppression and related documents. |